2015 VERspiel

Rutland Rocks Curling Club hosted their 3rd Annual VERspiel on Sunday Feb. 22, 2015 – with Vermont clubs battling it out for top bragging rights and a trophy. Woodstock sent 3 teams (Woodstock 1 – Dave Dugdale, Sharon Besso and Rich Svec, Woodstock 2 – Chris Miller, Nate Miller, Emily Boyd and Bob Annis, Woodstock 3 – Jay Flanders, Phil Swanson, Rita Seto and Peter Labelle).

2015 VERspiel Winnerswoodstock2 woodstock3Congratulations to Woodstock 1 for winning the 2015 VERspiel. Woodstock 2 were finalists in the B event and Woodstock 3 were winners in the C event. Well done!

Later that evening in final league play before play offs:

Sheet A: Team Holt forfeit to Team C. Miller
Sheet B: Team Allen 8 vs. Team Flanders 3
Sheet C: Team N. Miller 7 vs. Team Geer 5

Improper Bostonian on Lake Morey Weekend

Meghan Kavanaugh, a columnist from the Improper Bostonian attended Lake Morey Resort’s Ice Sports University weekend and wrote a feature article on her guest experience. She had a great review and singled out the Learn to Curl sessions (hosted by yours truly) as “taking the gold in intrigue level”. Check out her article from the Improper Bostonian. Great job Woodstock members!

Playoff Season + VERspiel Almost Here

Club members braved the windchill for some rousing games and getting some practice in before heading the VERspiel (hosted by Rutland Rocks Curling Club) this Sunday February 22. Woodstock is sending 3 great teams to battle with the other Vermont clubs for the curling crown of Vermont. The season is getting down to the wire and playoffs will start soon.

Sunday February 15, 2015

Sheet A: Team Allen 10 vs. Team Geer 3
Sheet B: Team N Miller 16 vs. Team C Miller 2
Sheet C: Team Holt 11 vs. Team Dugdale 3

Winter League Play update

Sunday Feb. 8, 2015

Sheet A: Team C. Miller 6 – Team. Flanders 3
Sheet B: Team Holt 10 – Team N. Miller 5
Sheet C: Team Geer 9 – Team Dugdale 5

Sunday Feb. 2, 2015

Sheet A: Team Dugdale tied with Team C. Miller (6-6)
Sheet B: Team Holt 8 – Team Allen 5
Sheet C: Team Flanders 9 – Team N. Miller 8 (an exciting mixed doubles format)